Databases
Recommended Databases
All Health Sciences Databases - [Off-Campus Access]
This list contains databases relevant to biomedicine, public health, nursing, and related academic topics. See the Databases @ Emory and/or GALILEO for additional databases available to the Emory University community.
-
Indexed articles on health care industry, management, policy; some full text. Coverage: 1971-present/Full text 1991-present
-
Multidisciplinary database with some full text. Coverage: 1984-present/Full text 1990-present
-
Online resource that allows physicians and residents to find answers in one click for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED; includes textbooks, images and videos.
-
Resources for clinical evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
-
Electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology;access to articles, terms, and research updates in all areas of science and technology
-
Integrated online resource that provides medical students, residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources.
-
Summarizes articles from the biomedical literature that report original studies and systematic reviews warranting immediate attention by physicians. Includes commentary by clinical experts.
-
A comprehensive, evidence-based reference for current answers on clinical care.
-
National Agricultural Library database containing citations for books, articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports in agricultural and veterinary sciences, animal welfare. Coverage: 1970-present
-
Complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Coverage: 1990-present
-
Provides a search filter for PubMed which incorporates an extensive list of animal alternatives terminology that can be combined with the more specific terms of the research protocol; it also displays a listing of live PubMed searches on selected animal testing topics
-
Citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications (East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union). Coverage: 1956-present
-
Detailed 3D model of the Human Anatomy software, available via web browser.
-
Research in all aspects of animal behavior, including neurophysiology, behavioral ecology, genetics, applied ethnology. Coverage: 1982-present
-
Review series of 20+ titles in biomedical, physical and social sciences; some full text. Coverage: mid 1980s-present/Full text mid 1990s-present
-
Index of essential anthropological and archaeological articles and essays; combines Harvard's Anthropology Literature and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Association. Coverage: Late 19th Century-present
-
References to books, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies and Festschriften. Coverage: 1971-present
-
Open access online publishing repository for original peer reviewed research in biology and medicine. Fields covered include genetics, ecology, infectious diseases, health services research, and medical informatics.
-
Life sciences, biology and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Coverage: 1985-2010
-
Full text, references, updates, and graphics from sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
-
CAB Direct is an extensive source of references in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Coverage includes biological and genetic resources, animal health and veterinary sciences, human nutrition, environment.
-
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Excellent coverage of the nursing and allied health fields: 1200 journals indexed regularly. Coverage: 1981-present. Pre-CINAHL is a companion database intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching).
-
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that provide high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Core content is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration and is updated quarterly. The following databases are included in the Cochrane Library: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (also includes Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database
-
This American Physiological Society publication comprises both the landmark Handbook of Physiology and updated review articles by leaders in physiological research.
-
Full text access to various publications that address multi-faceted issues and topics related to women from 190 countries. Coverage: 1992-present
-
A collection of 13 comprehensive laboratory manuals of protocols for scientists conducting research. Regularly updated, they span the life sciences and include research methods and topical reviews. Complex procedures are clarified with illustrations, tables, data charts and diagrams.
-
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and European universities; Emory University users can access free full text of Emory's titles and selected other titles. Coverage: 1861-present
-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present, together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Please note that some dissertations are unavailable as full text due to author restrictions.
-
An evidence-based clinical reference tool, created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
-
In depth description of political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments for about 200 countries
-
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database that also covers topics on health policy and environmental health. Coverage: 1980-present
-
Includes structures, processes, methods, systems and applications across the biological and biomedical sciences
-
Molecular biology data and bibliographic citations from the NCBI's integrated databases; includes gene and protein sequences, structures, chromosome maps. Databases include OMIM, Genome Project, PubChem, Taxonomy, and others.
-
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications on ecology, environmental management, global pollution issues, risk assessment, toxicology, water resources, and environmental and occupational health.
-
Epocrates Online organizes practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach. Topics covered include: drug information, drug interactions, disease information, OTC medications, patient education, and formulary information.
-
ERIC is the premier index for education literature and consists of two files: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). RIE includes ERIC documents, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Coverage is from 1966 to current. Microfiche of ERIC documents until June 2004 is available in microfiche drawer 411 at the Woodruff University Library.
-
A leading reference work, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
-
International, national, and local news sources and news wires.
-
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological and medical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.
-
Includes program details for thousands of leading foundations; detailed application guidelines for more than 7,000 grants; and a searchable file of approximately half a million grants.
-
Public documents of departments or agencies within the state government. Coverage: 1994-present
-
Gideon (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Network) is a global infectious disease knowledge management tool, which consists of three continually updated modules: Infectious Diseases, Microbiology and Occupational Toxicology. In addition, GIDEON includes worldwide data sources and adheres to Evidence Based Medicine standards.
-
International coverage of communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS), tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants. Coverage: 1973-present
-
Free electronic access to the full text of information produced by the U.S. Federal Government. Coverage: 2002-present
-
Index to publications of the U.S. Government. Coverage: July, 1976-present.
-
Bibliographic information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, tests, etc.) used in the healthcare field. Coverage: 1985-present
-
Indexes full text articles on nursing and allied health. Coverage: 1990-present
-
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields. Coverage: 1975 - present.
-
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides full-text access to biomedical engineering, medical information systems, diagnostic imaging and related research from all IEEE journals, transactions, letters, active standards, magazines and conference proceedings plus IEE journals and conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1988-present, with backfiles dating to 1913 for some selected journal titles.
-
A bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General?s Office, U.S. Army. It is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research. Coverage: 1880-1961.
-
International conferences, symposia, seminars, workshops, and conventions for the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Coverage: 1990- present.
-
Tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
-
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database provides easy access to resources that will help you find and use evidence to inform clinical decision-making.
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database consists of JBI databases, including the JBI Library of Systematic reviews, Best Practice Information sheets, Evidence Summaries and Evidence Based Recommended Practices.
-
Multidisciplinary resource for journal evaluation and impact factors.
-
Indexes full text of hundreds of journals in clinical medicine, public health, social sciences, life sciences, nursing, and physical science; electronic access to the full text of about 200 of these journals is available to the Emory community.
-
Full text access to older, back issues of over 200 journals in the humanities, general science, mathematics and social sciences, including population studies.
-
Interactive web-based access to over 450 reference books and databases from 30 major publishers of scientific and engineering resources.
-
Full-text access to news from national, regional and international sources, legal research, business and company information, and reference sources.
-
Full-text access to federal legislative and regulatory information, including Congressional publications, laws, bills, and regulations.
-
Full text access to state government information including bills, statutes, constitutions, regulations, and legislature membership.
-
Statistics from federal and state government sources, private organizations and international intergovernmental agencies and organizations.
-
Searchable catalog of books, journals, and other resources at the National Library of Medicine; also links to MEDLINE/PubMed, MedlinePlus, tutorials and other resources.
-
Database of clinical information including textbooks, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education pamphlets.
-
The National Library of Medicine's premier database covering literature of biomedicine, related life and behavioral sciences, and health care services and research. Coverage: 1966-present.
MEDLINE 1996-PresentOLDMEDLINE provides access to the 1951-1965 literature.
-
Database from the Buros Institute providing critical reviews of thousands of commercially available psychological tests.
-
Handbook for health care practitioners providing information on diseases and treatments.
-
Science Direct
-
Full set of images from the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy, 5th Edition. More than 200 additional clinically-focused illustrations and radiologic images, as well as videos created from the new Netter's 3D Interactive anatomy and selected videos from Netter's Online dissection Modules.
For tips on how to view and download images, create online presentations, and image disclaimer, use Netter Presenter Get Started Guide.
-
Allows simultaneous searching of multiple National Library of Medicine databases via a single interface. This also provides access to OLDMEDLINE (journal citations for 1953-1965). Coverage: 1953-present
-
NTRL provides access to a large collection of historical and current authenticated government technical reports in a wide range of subject areas, including health care, environmental pollution, medicine, biology, engineering and more. The database includes over 2 million titles with links to over 700,000 full-text reports. 1964-present
-
Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all its content.OECD Library contains all publications and datasets releassed by OECD, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, IEA, the International Energy Agency, NEA, Nuclear Energy Agency, OECD Development Centre, PISA, Programme for International Student Assessment, and ITF, the International Transport Forum.
-
National Library of Medicine database for pre-1966 medical literature; citations were converted from the print indexes Cumulated Index Medicus and Current List of Medical Literature. Coverage: 1951-1965.
-
Platform to search MEDLINE, Books@OVID, Journals@OVID, and International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.
-
Indexes articles, books and some government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences. Coverage: 1971-present
-
Indexes individual papers presented at conferences worldwide. Coverage: 1993-present
-
Indexes literature in fields of reproductive health, family planning, and population policy for all countries, and covers related topics such as AIDS, maternal and child health, and demography for developing countries.
-
Covers literature related to population studies. Coverage: 1986-2000
-
Bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities; includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) Coverage: 1940 - present.
-
Indexes published proceedings from worldwide conferences and lists the individual papers included in the proceedings. Coverage: 1993-present
-
A collection of psychiatry books, journals and self-assessment tools available from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.; includes online access to the latest version of DSM.
-
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports from the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1887-present
-
PsycTests provides access to non-commercial psychological tests, measures, scales, and surveys, as well as descriptive information. Most records include the full in strument. Coverage: 1910-present.
-
Publicly available version of MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE; also includes citations from some additional life science journals; provides link-out features to additional resources. Coverage: 1950-present
-
R2 Digital Library is a searchable database of health sciences book collection from Rittenhouse. Coverage includes medicine, nursing, and allied health.
-
JAMAevidence
-
Includes reports, studies, and papers on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Coverage: 1956-present.
-
Multidisciplinary database of articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals. Coverage: 1971-present (citations), 1986-present (fulltext)
-
Provides electronic full text to recent issues of major journals in science and medicine, as well as selected social sciences and humanities titles (Elsevier Science Publisher).
-
A gateway to searching all chemical substance and chemistry databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service; scope includes biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and others disciplines. While registration is free, new users MUST register using the instructions posted at the SciFinder Registration Information page prior to use.
-
A bibliographic index which abstracts English language periodicals in a wide range of interdisciplinary topics relevant to sociology, such as addiction studies, anthropology, community health, family studies, gender studies, gerontology, and others. Coverage: Indexing 1978 - present, abstracts 1994 - present.
-
Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1895-present.
-
Coverage of the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, and includes abstracts of journal articles, citations to book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage 1952- present.
-
SpringerImages is a growing collection of scientific images that spans the scientific, technical and medical fields, including high-quality clinical images from images.MD. The continually updated collection – currently over 1.5 million images – gathers photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables, and is available to libraries and their patrons via a searchable online database. Users can create personalized image “sets,” and can easily export images for use in their own presentations or lectures.
-
Includes Humana Press book series, such as: Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods. Also includes Laboratory Handbooks, such as the Biomethods, Proteomics and Springer Laboratory manuals.
For tips on how to use SpringerProtocols use SpringerProtocls User Guide.
-
Full text of 20 clinical medicine textbooks as well as drug, coding, and reference works.
-
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
-
Data on over 210,000 regularly published and irregularly issued serials.
-
Bibliographic access to the United Nation's Development Programme project reports. Coverage: 1972-1998
-
Presents current monthly economic statistics for most of the countries and areas of the world.
-
JAMAevidence
-
VisualDx is a diagnostic decision support system. It supports recognition of variants and the spectrum of disease across the visual specialties and enables search by morphologic feathres and other patient findings. VisualDx spans adult and pediatric medicine and includes oral mucosal and eye presentations as well as skin presentations of infectious, metabolic, nutritional, genetic and immunologic disease. Included within VisualDx is a searchable medication database to assist more accurate diagnosis of medication adverse events and medication induced disease.
-
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The information stored about each indexed article includes the article's cited reference list (bibliography); allows cited reference searching. Coverage: Science Citation Index 1900-present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present.
-
World Health Organization library database which indexes WHO publications, articles from WHO-produced journals, and technical documents. 1985- present (articles, documents), 1948-present (publications)
-
Records from a variety of women's studies publications on all aspects of women's issues, e.g., reproductive rights, feminist theory and history. Coverage: 1972-present
-
Statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries, including social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators; up-to two years lag in most recent data. Coverage: 1960-present
-
World's most comprehensive bibliography with records representing member libraries worldwide. Includes books, videos, journals, microfiche, web sites, and much more. Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
-
Zoological and animal science literature covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. References are from international serial publications, books, meetings, reviews and other non serial literature. Coverage: 1978-present

